





2017 Selected Awardees for the Social Emotional Learning Innovation Fund

The SEL Innovation Fund sought proposals from individual educators, teams of educators and district leaders seeking to improve learning environments that foster social and emotional skills in fresh, inventive or innovative ways. Examples include novel interventions or instructional practices focused on improving competencies such as resilience, learning mindsets, compassion, self-management and sense of belonging. Though all proposals were welcome, the fund prioritized proposals that specifically support one or more of the following student populations:

- Students from indigenous communities
- New arrivals (such as refugees) or immigrants
- English learners
- Students with significant adverse childhood experiences
- Single-sex environments

We received over 800 applications – 479 teachers and 328 school districts from more than 40 states. Through a competitive process, 12% of applicants were selected, 67 teachers and 30 districts, with the complete list of selected awardees below, organized by state.

Teacher Selected Awardees

Teacher	District	State
Kim Liland	Anchorage School District	AK
Maribel Salazar	Anchorage School District	AK
Jessica Williams	Anchorage School District	AK
Chris Brown	Kenai Peninsula Borough School District	AK
Tiffany L. Brown	Mobile County Public School System	AL
Cassondra Bussing	Glendale Elementary School District	AZ
Stefanie Ewbank	Alhambra Elementary School District	ΑZ
Katherine Engel	Amphitheater Public Schools	AZ
Daniel Schneider	Amphitheater Public Schools	
Karyn Rabe	Paradise Valley Unified School District	AZ
Michaela Thomas	Gateway Community Charters	CA
Karen Cevallos	West Contra Costa Unified Schools	CA
Regina Keeley	Boulder Valley School District	СО
Vae Champagne	Bridgeport Public Schools	CT
Christopher Poulos	Regional School District No. 9	CT
Heather Sevier	Duval County Public Schools	FL

Teacher	District	State
Colleen LaHatte	St. Johns County School District	FL
Nancy Klausner	Atlanta Public Schools	GA
Bridget McNeill	Barrow County School System	GA
Claudia Fitzwater	Drew Charter School	GA
Ivee Cruz	Hawaii DOE (Roosevelt Complex Area)	HI
Mary Haddad	Chicago Public Schools	IL
Shawana Ridley	Chicago Public Schools	IL
Molly Spooner	Chicago Public Schools	IL
Peter Stover	Chicago Public Schools	IL
Raymond Baker	Hinsdale District 86	IL
Neema Avashia	Boston Public Schools	MA
Jillian Meade	Boston Public Schools	MA
Tess Milliken	Boston Public Schools	MA
Heron Russell	Boston Public Schools	MA
Samantha Curtis	Lawrence Public Schools	MA
Karrie Marciniak	Bay City Public Schools	MI
Kate Burwinkel	Traverse City Area Public Schools	MI
Ashley Karlsson	Minneapolis Public Schools	MN
Angie Harper	Saint Paul Public Schools	MN
Gregory Bowman	Guilford County Schools	NC
Jaime MacEwen	Cumberland Regional School District	NJ
Pamela Vance	Hunterdon Central Regional High School	NJ
Courtney Weiss-Chromeck	Sussex Wantage Regional School District	NJ
Lisa Vasquez	Ruidoso Municipal Schools	NM
Byrne Larsen	Santa Fe Public Schools	NM
Ty Gomez	Washoe County School District	NV
Amber Chandler	Frontier Central School District	NY
Alma Aviles	New York City - District 8	NY
Angela Manekas	New York City - District 27	NY
Linda Noble	New York City - District 15	NY
Alhassan Susso	New York City	NY
Carol Tureski	New York City - District 24	NY
Dawn Krom	Ulster County BOCES	NY
Dana Davis	Akron Public Schools	ОН
Melissa Marini Svigelj-Smith	Cleveland Metro School District	OH
Carrie Brown	Portland Public Schools	OR
Chrissa Sullivan	Mt. Lebanon School District	PA
Jessica Hubbard	Achievement School District	TN
Benisha Lewis	Achievement School District	TN
Jarred Amato	Metro Nashville Public Schools	TN
Alexa Humberson	Austin Independent School District	TX
Mary Metcalf	Austin Independent School District	TX
Elizabeth Syria	Tooele County School District	UT

Teacher	District	State
Tina Vasquez	Charlottesville City Schools	VA
Gwendolyn Nixon	Richmond Public Schools	VA
Mary Muroski	Champlain Valley School District	VT
Lecia Anne Curtis	Spokane School District	WA
Carrie Stradley	Tukwila School District	WA
Jordan Stray	Tumwater School District	WA
Sue Bernhagen	Madison Metropolitan School District	WI
Melanie Fischer	School District of Onalaska	WI

District Selected Awardees

District	State
Galena City School District	
Ajo Unified School District	
Citizens of the World Charter Schools Los Angeles	
City Charter Schools	
KIPP Adelante Preparatory Academy	
Oakland Unified School District	
Sacramento City Unified School District	
Silverton School District	
Farmington Public Schools	
Hartford Public Schools	
Hillsborough County Public Schools	FL
Hawaii State Department of Education	
Chicago International Charter Schools	
Oak Park River Forest High School - District 200	
Chautauqua County Community Schools, USD 286	
Kentucky Valley Educational Cooperative	
Holyoke Public Schools	
American Promise Schools	
Minneapolis Public Schools	
Saint Louis Public Schools	
Neshoba County School District	
Northern Cass School District 97	
NACA Inspired Schools Network	
Valor Collegiate Academies	
KIPP Austin Public Schools	
YES Prep Public Schools	
Albemarle County Schools	
Federal Way School District	

District	State
Milwaukee Public Schools	WI
Potosi School District	WI