Our Blog

2022 SEL in Action Awards Announced!

action awards

For the 2022–23 school year, we invited applications for the SEL in Action Awards from two applicant pools:

  1. School-based educators (including teachers, counselors, administrators and other school staff) seeking to implement SEL initiatives in classrooms or schools in the 2022–2023 school year, and
  2. District-level applicants seeking to implement SEL initiatives district-wide and/or across multiple schools within one district (including a charter network).

Grant awards for educator-led projects are a maximum of $8,000 each. District-level grant awards are a maximum of $30,000 each.

The application window was open from January 10 through March 14.  You can see the full list below and view a map of awardees by school and district. Project details will be available soon at

Educator-led awardees from the following schools:

Abington School District Evergreen Community Charter School Newcomer International Center
ACE Amandla Charter High School Ewing High School Oakland International High School
ACE Atlanta Exceed Lower Charter School Old Sturbridge Academy Charter Public School
Alexander R. Shepherd Elementary Fleetwood Elementary School Osborne High School
Amphitheater High School Girls Global Academy Public Charter School Overbrook School for the Blind
Amy Biehl High School Goodwill High School P.S. 48 Mapleton
Bayyari Elementary Green Street Academy Pacific High School
Boston Adult Technical Academy Gulfstream Academy of Hallandale Beach K-8 Paintsville High School
Browne Education Campus and Jefferson MS Academy Hazel Valley Elementary PL Dunbar
Buckhannon-Upshur Middle School Hurlock Elementary School Public
Burnside Scholastic Academy Hutchinson High School Robert L. Bradley Elementary School
Cape Elizabeth Middle School International Studies Learning Center ROOTS Program
Charlottesville High School, Jackson Hole Middle School Scenic Park Elementary
Christopher House Elementary School Jamestown Middle School Sharon Elementary School
CL Smith Elementary School Jerry Zucker Middle School South Portland High School
Colorado Early Colleges Fort Collins John F. Kennedy Jr. School Staples High School
Crookshank Elementary School John Marshall Senior High School Truxton Academy Charter School
Cross Creek School John R Wooden High School University Laboratory School
Cuidando Los Niños Kate Smith Elementary School Van Ness Elementary School
Cumberland Regional High School Lake Worth Community Middle School Waimea Middle Public Conversion Charter School
Denair Middle School LEAF Charter School Walter J. Porter Elementary
Desoto County Schools Lincoln Middle School West High School
Discovery Charter School Linderman Education Center Whaley School
Doris Henderson Newcomers School Los Angeles Academy of Arts and Enterprise William M Davies Career & Technical High School
Eisenhower Center for Innovation Lyndale Community School WILLIAM S BAER SCHOOL 301
Eleanor Whitmore Early Childhood Center Mastery Cramer Hill Winston Intermediate School of Excellence
Elgin Math and Science Academy Metro Middle and High School Winston-Salem Preparatory Academy
Elizabeth Cobb Middle School New Haven Academy
Enlace New Tech High at Coppell

District-level awardees from the following districts:

Abington School District Girls Global Academy Public Charter School Rensselaer City School
Affinity Schools – Consortium, Internationals, NYC
Outward Bound Schools
Hamilton Heights School Corporation Russell Westbrook Why Not? High School
Amber Charter Schools Hogan Preparatory Academy San Diego County Office of Education, Juvenile Court
and Community Schools
ARISE High School Holyoke Public Schools San Francisco Unified School District
Auburn School District Howard County Public School System School District Five of Lexington and Richland Counties
Austin ISD Jersey City Public Schools School in the Square Public Charter
Boston Public Schools Kingston City School District Shelby County Board of Education
Brooklyn Emerging Leaders Academy Charter School KIPP Baltimore St. Lucie Public Schools
California Creative Learning Academy KIPP Texas Public Schools State of Hawaii Department of Education,
Honolulu District Visual Impairment Program
Champlain Valley School District Knox County Schools Taos Municipal Schools
Chesterfield County Public Schools; Petersburg
City Public Schools;
Sussex County Public Schools; Dinwiddie
County Public Schools
Milwaukee College Prep The School Board of Broward County, Florida
Colquitt County School District Newark Public Schools Voices College-Bound Language Academies
Educare New Orleans NYC Public Schools – Brooklyn North High School Weed Union Elementary School
Esteban Torres High School Oakland Unified School District Window Rock School District
Faribault Public Schools Plano Independent School District Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools
Future Focused Education Portland Public Schools YES Prep Public Schools
Galena City School District Prescott School District Ysleta Independent School District
Gateway Public Schools Putnam County Schools
George Washington Carver Academy (GWCA) Rainier Valley Leadership Academy

Meet the experts who authored this post

Education First

What’s next? Action steps to help you benefit from our expertise:

Work with us Gain insights Learn about our expertise